Promote your events and press releases in Leeds for FREE! Forgotten Password? | Register | Login

Explore Shopping

Talked About

Contribute +

Weather

Tue

Light Rain

15°C (59°F)
12°C (54°F)

Wed

Heavy Rain

13°C (55°F)
11°C (52°F)

Thu

Light Rain

16°C (61°F)
13°C (55°F)

Add Review

Leeds Business Reviews

Latest Reviews for Leeds

   Showing page 1 of 13 pages
Rate 0

Review by Brady Swan

Rating:

Added On:
16th, Dec 2015

Business:
mpower-fitness.co.uk

Want more clients and customers? We will help them find you by putting you on the 1st page of Google. Email us back to get a full proposal.

Rate 0

Review by Towntalk Review Team

Rating:

Added On:
11th, Apr 2015

Business:
West Yorkshire Playhouse

King Lear
08 - 18th April 2015

Northern Broadsides productions always get right into the poetry of Shakespeare's work and Jonathan Miller's Direction of King Lear makes the tragedy accessible and relevant with a masterclass in timing and delivery.

The self destructive monarch is played wonderfully by Barrie Rutter, who commands authority and sympathy in equal measure, as his judgement fails and he sinks into dementia. Rutter's undisguised interpretation of Lear's condition goes a long way to simplifying the play and making sense of an illness which is far better understood today than it was in the 16th Century. Madness was a regular theme of the Bard, though of course it remained a mystery. To tidy up the loose edges and present Lear as demented rather than simply 'mad', creates a wonderfully sensitive slant; one that brings the Play right into the hearts and souls of modern audiences.

With Northern Broadsides (for better or worse) it is ALL about the words and the interpretation and less about grand theatrical statements.

Isabella Bywater's Stage set is sparse and minimal, but its simplicity felt more swayed by financial constraints rather than artistic creativity. Similarly the acting stuttered a little too much for the audiences liking, with forgotten lines and a fairly stiff delivery of Edmund, by Sean Cernow, whose experience of playing Shakespeare roles needs a little more honing before taking on the role of such an iconic villain.

It is less than four years since the Playhouse put on King Lear and although Barrie Rutter's passion to play the role was rewarded with a superb personal performance, Tim Piggot-Smith triumphed back in 2011, with an altogether more substantial and rounded production.

Rate 0

Review by Ricky

Rating:

Added On:
3rd, Feb 2015

Business:
Wellshine

Well shine is Good cleaning company all round. Cleaned up a few of the London offices we look after. No issues.Thanks Well shine...

Rate 0

Review by TownTalk Review Team

Rating:

Added On:
23rd, Dec 2014

Business:
West Yorkshire Playhouse

James & the Giant Peach
05 December 2014 to 24 January 2015

Once again, the Playhouse avoids the tedium of a Christmas panto and elects instead for a Roald Dahl classic.
James and the Giant Peach carries more than a hint of 'Cinderella' as James (played by Chris Lew Kum Hoi), finds himself orphaned when a Rhinocerous lands on his parents and he is taken in by the 'wicked sisters'; his Aunt Spiker and Aunt Sponge (Jess Murphy and Jennifer Rudd).

With a superb set by Fly Davis, the (mostly) young audience was transformed into a magical world inside a giant peach as it traverses the Atlantic and lands on top of the Empire State Building.

With his new friends, Earthworm, Ladybird, Spider and Centipede, James' adventures are as much a tale about good over evil, as the Wizard of Oz! Overcoming tragedy and adversity are themes captured in much of Dahl's work, and this beautiful adaptation to the stage by David Wood, elegant Directed by Max Webster, is believable because of its edginess.

A fabulous Christmas family treat for all the family, and not a pantomime dame in sight!!

Rate 0

Review by Maria

Rating:

Added On:
26th, Nov 2014

Business:
Corporate Driver Management Ripon

Corporate Driver Management Ripon is the best driving school in UK and I am very satisfied with their training. I would thoroughly recommend this driving school to anyone wanted to learn to drive.

Rate 0

Review by David

Rating:

Added On:
25th, Nov 2014

Business:
Corporate Driver Management Ripon

Highly recommended driving school - Corporate Driver Management Ripon, they provided excellent driving lessons.

Rate 0

Review by Andrew

Rating:

Added On:
24th, Nov 2014

Business:
Corporate Driver Management Ripon

I am very happy with training provided by the Corporate Driver Management Ripon. They provided me excellent instructor.

Rate 0

Review by Jenny

Rating:

Added On:
21st, Nov 2014

Business:
Corporate Driver Management Ripon

Big thanks to Corporate Driver Management Ripon ; they help me in passing my driving test. My instructor made the lessons enjoyable.

Rate 0

Review by shimon

Rating:

Added On:
20th, Nov 2014

Business:
Corporate Driver Management Ripon

Thanks Corporate Driver Management Ripon for helping me to get my driving license, without you guys this would not happened.

Rate 0

Review by georgia smith

Rating:

Added On:
19th, Nov 2014

Business:
Corporate Driver Management Ripon

Driving education provided by Corporate Driver Management has proved beneficial to me and I am sure it would also be useful for everyone. So I recommend to all who want to learn driving by experts.

   Showing page 1 of 13 pages